2018 Annual Meeting Wrap Up

This year’s AMGA Annual Meeting, generously hosted by the Petzl Technical Institute, saw over 200 AMGA members soak up the topics of 205 technical clinics and classroom workshops. The evening events gave our community a robust inclusivity presentation supported by The North Face, time to discuss the important topics currently effecting the membership at the Board Q&A where 16 board members were present, and chance to raise scholarship dollars by dunking Technical Director Dale Remsberg and other AMGA leaders in the dunk tank. A big shout out goes to our Instructor Team members and colleagues for hosting so many informative clinics! Over the course of three days, members were able to connect professionally and personally to create a stronger community of mentors and climbing partners.

The three-day annual event topped out with the AMGA Awards Ceremony where we celebrated the newest IFMGA graduates and honored others who exemplify excellence and dedication to the profession of mountain guiding. We also gave a great send off to two dedicated Board members: Rob Hess (immediate past President) and Margaret Wheeler (past President & Secretary).

At the Sunday Board meeting we welcomed Lyra Pierrotti who was voted by members along with the re-elections for second terms for Ron Funderburke and Dylan Taylor as members of the 2018-2019 Board of Directors. The board also appointed new officers with Angela Hawse as President, Geoff Unger as Vice President and Sarah Carpenter as Secretary.

Plus, thanks so much to Karsten Delap for capturing all the great moments of learning and inspiration with our members.

photos by Karsten Delap

photos by Karsten Delap